I Yam What I Yam

So what happened was I got this really, really big Georgia O’Keefe-looking sweet potato in my CSA box.

IMG_2139

I posted it on Facebook and fortunately my friends had lots and lots of sweet potato recipes. I say fortunately because I already had a whole mess of sweet potato from the *previous* CSA box which I had been working into my default sweet potato salad- za’atar roasted cubed sweet potato, roast chickpeas, and a tahini dressing (tahini/lemon juice/olive oil).

IMG_2142

Leftovers Make Great Work Lunch

So I cooked my way through the recipes. There was a black bean flauta recipe similar to this one.

IMG_2157

And this sweet potato chana masala.

IMG_2177

I was down to just three pounds of my giant sweet potato when Johnson’s Backyard Garden struck again.

IMG_2186

I had some leftover black eyed peas to use up too so I made some burgers from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything Fast. These are better if you think of them less as burgers and more as southern falafel. (1/2 small sweet potato, 1 garlic clove, 2 cups black eyed peas, 3/4 cup rolled oats, barbecue sauce to taste, 2 tsp cumin, salt and pepper. Peel and pulse the sweet potato in a food processor. Add garlic clove. Rinse and add black eyed peas. Add remaining ingredients and pulse until combined but not pureed, add more oats if mixture is too thin. Broil or pan fry.)

IMG_2188

My friend Meredith suggested this Smitten Kitchen recipe twice and I was like, ok, ok already. I am glad she was persistent because I had ignored it as a side dish at first (I was looking to get through this sweet potato as expeditiously as possible) but it was first of all amazing and second of all filling enough as a leftover lunch. But it was also real real good with a pork chop.

IMG_2193

Obviously I could not go without making some ice cream but I didn’t make my own marshmallows I am not a crazy person. Though my Facebook friends may question that assertion at this point in my continued sweet potato posting.

IMG_2197

That finished off the giant sweet potato which felt like a major accomplishment. I mean I have run three marathons and I’m not sure what was more of a feat of perseverance.

This recipe inspired a real good sweet potato salad.

IMG_2214

I used orca beans in this chili because that’s what I had in the freezer but it’s one of my favorites. At this point the end was really in sight.

IMG_2216

I turned to Mark Bittman again to take me out, this time with a pasta dish from his Food Matters Cookbook. I did it, there was not a single sweet potato left in the house. All glory to God, I was sure to tell my Facebook followers.

IMG_2217

Of course Johnson’s Backyard had the last laugh. My friend Siobhan’s comment on this photo says it all: “It took a while for this picture to load and as I was staring at the little white clock I was thinking “oh please be sweet potatoes.”

IMG_2219.JPG

I am up to the challenge. Signed, the Scott Jurek of sweet potatoes.

This entry was posted in In The Kitchen, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

