Turkey Day-Minus Ten: Squash Casserole

My parents are in Hong Kong this year and I am missing them like crazy, especially right about now. My mother makes the best Thanksgiving feast ever, and while I am pretty competent at duplicating it by now, I am a little anxious about hosting twelve in my much smaller, dual oven and dishwasher lacking kitchen. So I’m doing as much ahead as I can, and heading in to my freezer first is one of the side dishes, a yellow squash casserole. I don’t know why my family makes a summer squash casserole in November every year, but we do, and it’s amazing. (My mother also usually makes a corn casserole to go with it, and while the corn is probably more traditional, the squash casserole is better so I’m ditching the corn and keeping the squash.)

Yellow Squash Casserole (from San Francisco Encore)

  • 2 lbs summer yellow squash, sliced
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 2 tbsp butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 cups celery, thinly sliced
  • 1 cup onion, diced
  • 2 more tbsp butter, not melted
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp white pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded Cheddar
  • 9 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled
  1. Boil the squash in salted water until tender. Drain well and mash in a large bowl. Add eggs, cream and melted butter.
  2. Heat the remaining butter in a large skillet over medium high and cook the celery and onion until transparent. Add the celery and onion to the squash mixture along with the salt, pepper, and half of the cheese.
  3. Pour into a 9×13 casserole dish. Cover with remaining cheese and bacon. Wrap well and refrigerate or freeze. (Defrost overnight in the fridge before cooking). When ready to cook, bake at 350 for 45 minutes.

 

 

This entry was posted in In The Kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

