I Only Open the Freezer to Stick My Head In It

This is my second summer without central air, and, well, even heating something up on the stove seems oppressive. I have a batch of these carnitas in the freezer and every week I think about putting them on the menu and then I think about standing over the skillet while I heat the tortillas and, no. So I’m making a lot of no cook recipes (this “salsa” was a hit at book club and I ate the leftovers as a lunch salad, and we’re going to have the whole week of no cook recipes from the current EatingWell this week) and quick recipes. The less time near the stove the better.

My very favorite new-to-me recipe is Deborah Madison’s quinoa salad with mangoes and curry dressing. Quinoa salads are all the rage, if Pinterest is any barometer, anyway, and this particular version is THE SALAD among the MOMS Club of Encino/Lake Balboa. Apparently one mom made it for a new baby meal and seriously, one week we spent a good half of playgroup talking about it, so, okay, okay, I tried it. And it is good. Yes, you have to turn on the stove, but the mango and creamy dressing makes for an incredibly refreshing summer meal.

Quinoa Salad With Mangoes and Curry Dressing (adapted from Deborah Madison’s Vegetarian Cooking For Everyone)

  • salt
  • 1 1/2 cups quinoa, rinsed
  • 2 large mangoes
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and diced
  • 3 scallions, sliced
  • 1/3 cup slivered almonds
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 2 tbsp yogurt or sour cream
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • 1 1/2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 5 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp cilantro

1. Bring 3 cups of water to a boil, then add 1/2 tsp salt and the quinoa. Simmer, covered, for 12 to 15 minutes (this is enough time to prep the above ingredients- slicing up the mango and scallions etc, and whisk together the dressing. Even I can handle the heat for 12 minutes.)

2. Cut the mangoes. Y’all, Deborah Madison’s description on how to do this was unhelpful, but you do need good ripe mangoes. If you just cut them open and hack away as much mango as you can it’ll be fine.

3. Fix the dressing. Mince the garlic with 1/4 tsp of salt, then stir in the yogurt/sour cream and curry. Stir in the lemon juice and then whisk in the oil. Add the cilantro.

4. Mix it all together. When the quinoa is ready, toss it in a big bowl with the mango, jalapeno and scallions. Stir in the dressing and then scatter the almonds on top.

This entry was posted in In The Kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Only Open the Freezer to Stick My Head In It

  1. Gwen says:

    We just made this and it’s INCREDIBLE. So, so good. I can always count on you to post amazing recipes. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

