Savannah Chicken (or Turkey) Brown Rice and Pimento Perloo

Thanksgiving is, hands down, my favorite holiday. And my favorite-est part just might be the leftovers. I’ve got quite a few recipes for leftover roast turkey in my filebox (including my all time favorite, turkey pot pie with a stuffing crust) and thought I’d share some. I made this last week because I had to bring a meal to a friend in a hurry, and it was delicious- and it is also an ideal place to put some of that leftover turkey. Make one casserole for now and one to freeze, so you have some more leftovers stored up for when the December holiday crunch kicks in and there’s no time to cook.  I will probably make another one with chicken since I’m having Thanksgiving at my parents- I want one in my freezer that badly.

Savannah Chicken (or Turkey) Brown Rice and Pimento Perloo

adapted from James Villas, natch.

  • 2.5 cups water
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup brown rice
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 celery rib, chopped
  • 8 oz sliced mushrooms
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 cup chicken (or turkey) broth
  • 1 cup half and half
  • 3 cups cooked chicken or turkey, cubed
  • 1/2 cup slivered almonds
  • 2 oz chopped pimentos (drained)
  • salt and pepper

Bring water and salt to a boil. Stir in rice and simmer, covered, 40-45 minutes. Fluff w/a fork and keep warm.

Preheat the oven to 350. Butter two 8 inch square casserole pans (or one 9×13).  Melt butter in a big skillet over moderate heat. Add onion, celery, and mushrooms, and saute for five minutes. Sprinkle with the flour and cook three minutes longer. Add broth and half and half and stir until thick, about ten more minutes.

Divide the broth mixture among the two casseroles (or pour into the one). Add rice, chicken, almonds and pimientos (again divide in half if making two casseroles) and season with salt and pepper. Bake, covered, until bubbly, about 30 minutes. Or freeze for later.

Each 8×8 casserole will serve 3-4 people (4 for sure if 2 are kids, my one year old could not get enough of this but my three year old was not interested).  A 9×13 casserole will serve 4-6.

This entry was posted in In The Kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

