Tuscan Chickpea Soup

Coolers

Coolers full of frozen food and dry ice.

Defrosting Freezer

The annual defrosting.

I defrosted the deep freeze today and unearthed a bag of Tuscan Chickpea Soup from earlier this year.  It’s now on the menu for Thursday’s dinner, and the soup pops up in the menu rotation pretty frequently once the weather starts to cool.  It originally ran in Cooking Light in October 2001; if it’s endured in the rotation for about nine years, I guess that means it’s a keeper.

I do a couple of things differently from the recipe.  I generally use chicken stock, although it’s fine with water for a true vegetarian soup, and I always use the immersion blender to puree the whole batch of soup, rather than futzing around with a blender and the hot soup.  If I have a parmesan rind in the fridge, I’ll toss that in while the soup cooks – but make sure to remove it before you start to puree the soup!  (Although – true confession time – once, I totally forgot to remove the rind and didn’t even remember the rind was there until well after the sop was pureed and in our bowls.  And I kept my mouth shut.)

It’s fast, it’s easy, you can do it in the crock pot if you’d like, but there’s really no reason to since it only needs to simmer for about 20 minutes.  The recipe easily doubles and I freeze it in zipper freezer bags.  It’s great with grilled cheese or garlic toast and a maybe a salad.

This entry was posted in In The Kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tuscan Chickpea Soup

  1. Tammy McLeod says:

    Tuscan chick pea soup sounds good but your link doesn’t take me to it. Darn.

  2. Try it now- I think we fixed it!

  3. Kate says:

    The recipe looks sort of like a soup I make from A Year In A Vegetarian Kitchen but without butternut squash, so even more perfect for cleaning out the pantry/using up the surplus of onions from the CSA. I’ll definitely be trying it.

Leave a Reply

