Easiest Ever Overnight Waffles

One of my favorite meals as a child was chocolate waffles, which my dad would make on special weekend mornings and still makes whenever we visit home. I had big dreams of making special weekend breakfasts for my own children, but y’all, my kids get up at 6 AM regardless of the day of the week, and chocolate or any other (good) waffles require whisking of egg whites and multiple bowls and it’s just not something I want to face at 6 AM, especially since my children also lack patience at that hour. Even pancakes sometimes are a stretch for them to wait for.

So I was totally intrigued by the idea of overnight waffles- waffles you mix up the night before and then just cook in the morning, but the first recipes I ran across still called for a lot of fussing around in the morning, which seemed like all the bother of regular waffles with extra bother the night before. However, the Dorky Yankees at Cook’s Illustrated came to the rescue. While their recipes usually make things more complicated but with foolproof results, their yeasted waffle recipe makes waffle making as easy as it can be short of toasting an Eggo and makes some of the most tasty, crisp, light waffles you’ve ever had, to boot. Even if you don’t have small children wailing to be fed first thing in the morning, this is a good one to make if you want to host the easiest ever brunch. I’ve also made the batter in the morning to have waffles for supper. If I can just figure out overnight chocolate waffles I’ll be set for life.

Overnight Waffles

  • 1 3/4 cups milk
  • 8 tbsp butter, cut in 8 pieces (one stick)
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp instant yeast
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  1. Heat milk and butter in saucepan over medium heat until butter is melted. Set aside to cool.  Whisk flour, sugar, salt and yeast in large bowl. Slowly whisk in warm milk/butter mixture and whisk until smooth. In small bowl, whisk eggs and vanilla together.  Then add eggs to batter and whisk until incorporated. Scrape down the sides of the bowl, cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate 12-24 hours.
  2. When you are ready for waffles, heat your waffle iron.  Get the waffle batter out (it’ll be foamy and double in size) and whisk to recombine (it’ll deflate.)  Bake waffles according to your waffle maker- about 1/2 cup for a round waffle iron and 1 cup for a square waffle iron. I have a Belgian waffle iron which works fine, too, but makes slightly fewer waffles.
  3. If you want to make your own toaster waffles for the next morning, slightly undercook a set of waffles. Then toast them the next day. Take that, Eggo!
This entry was posted in In The Kitchen and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Easiest Ever Overnight Waffles

  1. tanulewicz says:

    I am totally making these this week. I wonder – could you use buttermilk? Should I just try and then we’ll find out? (Also – Chris is going to be out this weekend so I’m going to defrost those baked tacos… And also make King Ranch Casserole. Because I married a man who doesn’t care for corn tortillas. I KNOW.)

    • hannahspector says:

      Wait, what? My husband doesn’t like grits but I think corn tortillas would do me in.

      When you switch out sweet milk for buttermilk w/regular waffles or pancakes it’s the baking soda/baking powder you have to trade out, because of how the buttermilk reacts to make it rise (baking soda w/buttermilk, baking powder w/regular milk). But since this relies on yeast— I don’t know what would happen. Try it, for science’s sake.

Leave a Reply

