Pickled Onions

Not a lot left, these go fast!

I started to work on a pizza dough shaping tutorial per Jana’s request but left my dough to rise far too long unattended- it quadrupled in size, overflowing the bowl, making my whole kitchen smell like a frat house basement carpet, and not really lending itself to being shaped nicely. Total disaster and the first pizza dough disaster I’ve had in years.  So embarrassing.

Instead, I thought I’d pass on a recipe for pickled onions. This is a quick pickle, and you keep it in the fridge. You only need to worry about the jar being clean, not any of that fussy canning stuff.  In fact, you don’t even need a jar- I have kept pickled onions in tupperware, a bowl covered with cling wrap, whatever’s handy.

I initially made this batch of  onions to go with these burgers (which are excellent, although if you are making a half batch of the cream and don’t halve the amount of chipotle accordingly some people [not me] will think they are too spicy…) and then these barbecue chicken sliders (which were even more excellent; had them with black bean couscous and it was declared one of my husband’s favorite meals in ages, and for a meal with couscous to attain that sort of praise means it was really, really good).  But I also pop them in turkey sandwiches, or serve them with quesadillas (I highly recommend them with Deborah Madison’s spinach quesadillas), or samosas, or over goat cheese on a cracker. Today I used them when making tuna salad instead of pickles, and that was inspired, although I’ll have the worst breath ever at playgroup this afternoon. (Totally worth it.)  Versatile, easy to make, and keep for up to 6 months in the fridge- you can’t not have a batch of these handy.

Pickled Onions- loosely adapted from Lee Bailey’s Onions

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 cup vinegar (any kind- white, rice, red wine… I like cider vinegar best)
  • 1 tbsp peppercorns, smushed up a bit
  • 2 cups onions, either sliced big onions (red, yellow, whatever you want)

Optional:

  • jalapeno or other pepper, sliced
  • mustard seeds
  • bay leaf
  • herb/spice of your choice

Bring sugar and vinegar and pepper (and other ingredients, if using- everything but the onion) to a boil. Pour over onion. Let sit for at least a few hours in your fridge.  That’s it!

This entry was posted in In The Kitchen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

