Standard Pizza Dough

I wanted to start this blog in large part because I’m envious of Teri’s deep freeze, I’m not going to lie.  I dream of being the kind of person whose freezer always has something to make a last minute meal, or who can leave town and know that her family has something besides Trader Joe’s frozen chicken tikka masala to eat.  I have high hopes of freezing things but in general my freezer has some mystery meat, a lone chicken breast, ice cubes if I’m lucky- nothing immediately edible.

Except there is one thing I am diligent about keeping at hand. And that would be pizza dough. I take pizza dough very seriously- I have baked my way through Peter Reinhart and  been through more pizza stones than I care to admit.  But this recipe, adapted from Sally Schneider’s A New Way To Cook, is my fallback. My freezer always has a couple of ziploc bags with two balls of pizza dough in them (put each ball in the corner of a bag, fold and squeeze the air out so the balls don’t touch, and you have the makings of two pizzas, or enough for a family of 4 assuming 2 of the 4 are small children).  Pull them out in the morning and by evening you can make, say, this tomato and corn pizza in 30 minutes without resorting to Boboli (which I think tastes way too bread-y and also has palm oil, for pete’s sake).

  • 2 cups lukewarm water
  • big pinch of sugar
  • 5 tsp yeast
  • 6 cups unbleached all purpose flour
  • 4.5 tsp kosher salt
  • 3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

Toss everything in your mixer. Mix on as high a speed as you can without the mixer threatening to walk off the counter for 5 minutes. Let rest 5 minutes.  Mix again for as long as you can stand- I tend to go for 10-12 more minutes.  Roll into a ball and let rise in a lightly oiled ball until doubled in size. Then, if you’ve got time, punch it down and let it rise again for about an hour.  Divide into 8 individual balls and freeze. (If cooking pizza that day, which I usually am, let the individual balls you’re using sit out on the counter for an hour.) To defrost, put in the fridge for 8 hours or more- bring out on the counter an hour before cooking.  Top as desired and bake in a 500 degree oven for 8-10 minutes.

Clockwise from left: Tomato and corn pizza, good old cheese pizza, prosciutto and caramelized onion pizza with lemon pepper cream sauce

This entry was posted in In The Kitchen and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Standard Pizza Dough

  1. Jana says:

    I have a KitchenAid and can successfully MAKE pizza dough…but my ineptitude is with stretching and shaping the pizza dough. So if you are taking requests, I would love to read a tutorial on that.

  2. Pingback: How to Shape Pizza Dough | Freezes Beautifully

Leave a Reply

